Peru State start set for Saturday, May 7 – Nebraska City News Press


The oldest institution of higher learning in the state of Nebraska will hold its 2022 debut on Saturday, May 7 at 10 a.m. The annual State of Peru event will be held at the Al Wheeler Center activity center on the College campus.

After a welcome by President Michael Evans, the Concert Choir, under the direction of Dr. Matt Hill, will perform the National Anthem and the Sons and Daughters of Peru.

John Chaney will bring greetings from the Nebraska State College System Board of Trustees.

The State of Peru will present a Distinguished Service Award and a Teacher Excellence Award with an announcement of the winners to be made closer to the event.

More than 400 master’s and undergraduate degrees will be awarded. Eight students will be recognized as graduates of the honors program. These individuals, with their majors and hometowns noted, include: Shelby Ann Bartlett – liberal arts from Crete; Mason Lee Clobes – biochemical science with minor in mathematics from Seward; Kelsi Leininger – Business Administration – Public Administration and Business Administration – Human Resources and Risk Management from Shenandoah, Iowa; Kaitlyn Rose McNeil – psychology of Sterling; Pretty Marcella Scott – Jansen story; Brealynn Elizabeth Wattier – English with a minor in Psychology from Raymond; Bryanna Grace Woodard – Homer’s wildlife ecology; and Parker Donly Gutschow – Elkhorn Biochemical Science.

The concert choir will conclude the beginning with the singing of the colorful song of the State College of Peru.

Phillip Hensarling, Student Senate President-Elect and Alyse Foster, Student Senate Vice President-Elect, will serve as ceremonial student marshals for the event. Hensarling is from Broken Bow while Foster is from Indianola.

After the start concludes, those in attendance are invited to a celebratory reception on the campus quad. Light hors d’oeuvres and music will be provided, giving families, friends and College faculty/staff an opportunity to wish 2022 graduates success in their future endeavours.


Comments are closed.